1. Careers

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Enlisted Rank


Navy/Coast Guard

Air Force

Marine Corps


No insignia

No insignia

No insignia

Private (PV1)

Seaman Recruit (SR)

Airman Basic (AB)

Private (PVT)


Private (PV2)

Seaman Apprentice (SA)

Airman (Amn)

Private First Class (PFC)


Private First Class (PFC)

Seaman (SN)

Airman First Class (A1C)

Lance Corporal (LCpl)




Corporal (CPL)l

Petty Officer Third Class (PO3)

Senior Airman (SrA)

Corporal (Cpl)

Specialist (SPC)


Sergeant (SGT)

Petty Officer Second Class (PO2)

Staff Sergeant (SSgt)

Sergeant (Sgt)


Staff Sergeant (SSG)

Petty Officer First Class (PO1)

Technical Sergeant (TSgt)

Staff Sergeant (SSgt)


Sergeant First Class (SFC)

Chief Petty Officer (CPO)

Master Sergeant

Gunnery Sergeant (GySgt)

(Collar & Cap)

First Sergeant (Master Sergeant)


Master Sergeant (MSG)

Senior Chief Petty Officer (SCPO)

Senior Master Sergeant (SMSgt)

Master Sergeant (MSgt)

First Sergeant (1SG)

(Collar & Cap)

First Sergeant (Senior Master Sergeant)

First Sergeant (1stSgt)


Sergeant Major (SGM)

Master Chief Petty Officer (MCPO)

Chief Master Sergeant (CMSgt)

Master Gunnery Sergeant (MGySgt)

Command Sergeant Major (CSM)

(Collar & Cap)

First Sergeant (Chief Master Sergeant)

Sergeant Major (SgtMaj)

Command Chief Master Sergeant
Sp Pay Gd

Sgt. Major of the Army (SMA)

Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy (MCPON)

Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force (CMAF)

Sgt. Major of the Marine Corps (SgtMajMC)

(Collar & Cap)

Note: In the Army, there are two types of E-4s: corporals and specialists. While both receive the same pay, a coroporal is a noncommissioned officer and a specialist is not. An E-4 is normally designated an NCO (corporal) if they are a team or section leader. Corporals are more common amoungst the Combat Arms, but many Combat Support MOS's (jobs) may have them. In the Army, promotion to E-4 comes automatically (with commander's recommendation) at 26 months Time-in-Service. That means that most people that enlist for 3-5 years would spend an awful long time as a PFC. That's not much to look forward to, besides, most people are not ready for NCO responsibility with just a couple of years in service. Hence, the Specialist rank. It's actually a throw back from the not so distance past. Up until the mid 80's the ranks were divided into 2 separate structures. E1-3's were the Private ranks. There were the Specialist ranks (Specialist 4 through Specialist 7). These were soldiers that were specialists in thier field (hence the name). They were not NCO's and didn't have NCO authority. There were the NCO ranks (Corporal through Sergeant First Class). These are the leaders.

In the Army and Marine Corps, First Sergeant is a rank (E-8), and special duty position held by the top E-8 enlisted person in the unit. In the Air Force, first sergeant is a special duty position which can be held by those in the rank of E-7, E-8, or E-9 (The authorized rank of an Air Force First Sergeant is dependent upon the size of the unit. The more enlisted personnel assigned, the higher the rank of a first sergeant that unit is authorized). More details about first sergeants can be found in Dedication to the First Sergeant.

Images Above are Official Department of Defense Images


©2015 About.com. All rights reserved.