1. Careers
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Global War on Terrorism Service Medal


4 of 5


Individuals authorized the award of the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal must have participated in or served in support of Global War on Terrorism operations outside the designated areas of eligibility (AOE) on or after September 11, 2001 and to a future date to be determined. The initial accepted operations for the War on Terrorism Service Medal are Airport Security Operations (from September 27, 2001 through May 31, 2002) and Operations Enduring Freedom, Noble Eagle, and Iraqi Freedom.

Any service member, including Reserve Component soldiers mobilized, or National Guard soldiers, participating in support of designated operations for 30 consecutive days or 60 nonconsecutive days are authorized the GWOTSM.

The medal may be awarded after death to any soldier who lost his/her life while, or as a direct result of, taking part in Global War on Terrorism Operations, regardless of length of such service, if otherwise entitled.

Only one award of the GWOTSM may be approved for any one person. No service stars are prescribed.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.