1. Careers
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Distinguished Flying Cross


4 of 4

Air Corps Act (Act of Congress, 2 July 1926, Public Law No. 446, 69th Congress) provided "to any person, while serving in any capacity with the Air Corps of the Army of the United States, including the National Guard and the Organized Reserves, or with the United States Navy, since the 6th day of April 1917, has distinguished, or who, after the approval of this Act, distinguishes himself by heroism or extraordinary achievement while participating in an aerial flight," be award The Distinguished Flying Cross. The Commission of Fine Arts accepted many designs from the U.S. Mint, commercial artists, and the Office of the Quartermaster General before approving the designed created by Mr. Arthur E. Dubois and Miss Elizabeth Will on 31 May 1927. Individuals who made record breaking long distance and endurance flights and who set altitude records were the first to be given the Distinguished Flying Cross. In a letter on 31 May 1927, The Secretary of War authorized Captain Charles A. Lindbergh the first Distinguished Flying Cross. A special Act of Congress with the support of the Secretary of War retroactively awarded the Wright Brothers the Distinguished Flying Cross as the law excluded award to non-military personnel. Title 10, U.S.C., Section 3749 contains the present statutory requirements for Army persons; Section 6245 for Navy personnel; and Section 8749 for Air Force personnel to be awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross. Title 10, U.S.C., Section 3991, allows enlisted persons a 10% increase in their retired pay when designated with valor equal to that necessary for the award of the Distinguished Service Cross.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.