1. Careers
Send to a Friend via Email

Discuss in my forum

Navy Enlisted Promotion System

Page 3


Factors used in computing FMS include (See our FMS Chart for a complete overview):

Promotion Test - Chief petty officers (E-7 to E-9) from each Navy rating develop advancement examinations. The examinations consist of 200 questions. Generally, about one-half of the questions are about general Navy subjects, and the other half covers the specific rating (job). The maximum possible score is 80. For promotions to E-4 and E-5, the promotion test comprises 38 percent of the total possible promotion points. For promotions to E-6, the test comprises 33.5 percent. For E-7s, the test comprises 60 percent of the total possible promotion points.

Performance Evaluations - Sailors are rated periodically on their duty, conduct, and performance, by their supervisor(s) using written performance evaluations.

These written evaluations include promotion recommendations, which are converted to a numerical value ranging from 2.0 to 4.0. The marks are then averaged, resulting in a Performance Mark Average (PMA), which is then converted to promotion points as follows:

    • E-4/E-5 – PMA * 80 - 230
    • E-6 – PMA * 80 - 204
    • E-7 - PMA x 13

The maximum possible performance evaluation points for promotion to E-4 and E-5 are 90, which means the points comprise 43 percent of the total possible promotion points. The maximum possible performance evaluation points for promotion to E-6 are 116, which means evaluations count as 48.5 percent of the maximum possible score. The maximum possible performance evaluation points for promotions to E-7 are 52, which means this portion comprises 40 percent of the maximum possible points.

Time in Rate (TIR) (also referred to as Service in Paygrade [SIPG] – These points are calculated based on years, and percentages of years completed since the last change in rate.

For example, if a sailor has 3 years, 6 months TIG, that would be 3.5. Points are calculated as follows:

    • E-4/E-5 - SIPG + 7.5 (maximum 15)
    • E-6 - SIPG + 9.5 (maximum 17)

TIR Points are not used for E-7 promotions. TIR Points comprise 7 percent of the total possible promotion points for promotions to E-4, E-5 and E-6.

Awards, Medals, and Decorations - Certain military awards, medals, and decorations are awarded a designated number of promotion points. Award, Medal and Decoration points are not used for E-7 promotion point computation. E-5 & E-6 candidates may have a maximum of 10 Award points, which constitute 5 percent of the possible total promotion points, and E-7 candidates are limited to 10 Awards point, still comprising only 5 percent of the total possible.

Passed, Not Advanced (PNA) Points - If a sailor was considered for promotion in the past five years, had high promotion scores, and high performance ratings, but was not promoted because of a shortage of promotion vacancies, they get a "boost" in their promotion chances by the award of PNA Points. Only factors (promotion test scores and performance ratings) in the previous five promotion cycles can be used.

PNA Points are computed in fractions of one-half point to a maximum of 1.5 points in each of the two creditable categories: Relative Points Test Score & Relative Performance Mark Average

PNA points are not used for E-7 promotions. For promotions to E-4 through E-6, the PNA points are listed on the profile sheet of the previous examination. The maximum number of total points is 15 for E-4 / E-5 candidates, and 17 for E6. PNA comprises a total of 7 percent of the total possible promotion points for promotions to E-4 to E-6.

Promotion Point Results

FMS results for all candidates are rank-ordered from the top to the bottom score - or from the most qualified to the least qualified. For example: There are 500 candidates for BM3 who meet all eligibility criteria for a given advancement cycle. However, there are only 400 vacancies to be filled.

The rank-ordering process identifies the top 400 (based on FMS) who will actually be advanced.

Special Note: The last change to the advancement calculations was in the aforementioned NAVADMIN 183/07 affected those members testing for E4 to E6 – the changes it instituted were that the weight of the Performance Mark Average (PMA) from a sailor’s evaluation promotion recommendation was increased by 7 percent with the gradation increased from 12 to 16 points between an Early Promote and a Promotable recommendation. The weightings of Service in Paygrade (SIPG) and Pass Not Advanced (PNA) points were decreased by approximately one-half – placing more emphasis on the member’s performance and current knowledge, and less on their “laurels” of previous scores & longevity.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.